Smoking in cars!! – something to think about

Something funny.

Have you ever had a friend that is very anti smoking, and always comments on how it disgusts them that you smoke.

You value their concern, but their constant badgering can be a little annoying and its been worse since the no smoking in public buildings and such like.

So heres the funny point. If its absolutely pouring down with rain and you are driving to work and you see your friend walking along the road soaked, should you stop?

Techically, it’s not a works vehicle, so you can invite people into it, but should you?  Is it ethical?  Plus on the personal level, if they moan about you smoking, would you forgive all the hassle and offer the lift?

In my view, it’s a no.  The car would have residual items in the air to risk your friend and therefore you could not.  It will not be long before the Government insists on warning notes to be put on private cars to warn people that a smoker users it.

Mind you, I can see the day when all smokers are forced to wear a logo on their clothes to show that they are unclean.  There are serious points behind this as many of the older readers are aware of, but that’s how I believe this country is heading.

When the country starts heading that way, I will be on my toes and straight to the airport, to fly off to France, where my little house is located.  At least there, I am free to express myself as I wish, with a Government which still listens to the electorate.

I wonder if I could still work for Compare whilst living in France.  I hope so.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Smoking in cars!! – something to think about”

  1. Smoking in cars!! - something to think about | Trustworthy Mechanics in Your Area - What you should look for! Says:

    […] Mike Riversdale wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptThe car would have residual items in the air to risk your friend and therefore you could not. It will not be long before the Government insists on warning notes to be put on private cars to warn people that a smoker users it. … […]

  2. uncajake Says:

    Geez! What a hatemonger! Of course you should pick up your friend in the rain, but first run around to the trunk and get out your PGM (Passenger Gas Mask) for them to don before entering the aforementioned hazardous breathing zone.

    My current concern is the bans on smoking with children in the car. Whose children, how old are they? Can I turn Mom in for smoking when I was with her? And what if the kids are smoking, can I join them? Too many questions left in the air and they are somewhat obscured by the cloud of smoke from my car.

  3. compareandy Says:

    uncajake, you raise an important issue, should smokers carry PGM (Passenger gas masks) and who should provide them, the Government? Smokers would argue that they have paid enough in taxes over the years.

    Smoking with children in the car is another matter. I never smoke with children present. It’s not fair on them, and they will grow up in a generation with no advertising or anything.

    They will probably still smoke.

    So, should a car carry a hazardous zone sign?

  4. Joe Camel Says:

    If one cracks a window all smoke is sucked outside. My car smells like a new car. I once had a female passenger who insisted that a deadly smoke residue remains–a bald faced lie–so I asked her if she’d her if she’d rather walk, It’s incumbent on smokers to defy smoking bans at every opportunity, Being subject to the delusions of fanatics is no way to live, folks.

  5. How To Stop Smoking » Blog Archive » Smoking in cars!! - something to think about Says:

    […] post Contact the author and continue reading […]

  6. compareandy Says:

    I agree with Joe Camel, we should fight oppression at every step.

    My car is an extension of my personal space, same as my car and I should be free to do what I want in my own property.

Leave a Reply

