Smoking in Cars – I need to be careful

i’m off to France today.

French laws and the way they enforce them are unusual to say the least.  One of the most annoying is smoking in cars.

If you travel along any French autotoute, you will see French drivers puffing away on  cigarettes.  I even smoke when I am driving.  however, when I reach a little town call St Juliene, in the south west, about 35 miles from my house, the French Police hold a mini roadblock.

A single police car sits beside a roundabout just before the high street and watches the cars driving into town.  If you are a car driver and smoking they will stop you.

Luckily I have learnt the easy way, with watching others get pulled over, and have never been stopped myself.  But it now means I am very cautious when smoking in my car at all, no matter whether it is near my house or not.  What makes it worse is the language barrier, whereas I can only speak a little French, imagine trying to explain to a French copper that you did not know the law!!

Oh well, I am just happy to be getting away so no more moaning.

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Smoking in Cars – I need to be careful”

  1. Smoking in Cars - I need to be careful | Trustworthy Mechanics in Your Area - What you should look for! Says:

    […] Consumer Reports Shopping Blog wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptBut it now means I am very cautious when smoking in my car at all, no matter whether it is near my house or not. What makes it worse is the language barrier, whereas I can only speak a little French, imagine trying to explain to a … […]

  2. car » Blog Archive » Smoking in Cars - I need to be careful Says:

    […] Fagstein wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI even smoke when I am driving. however, when I reach a little town call St Juliene, in the south west, about 35 miles from my house, the French Police hold a mini roadblock. A single police car sits beside a roundabout just before the … […]

  3. How To Stop Smoking » Blog Archive » Smoking in Cars - I need to be careful Says:

    […] post Contact the author and continue reading […]

Leave a Reply

